Posted by: Kate Ashford | February 16, 2010

Hey! Sallie Mae! Heard of Phishing?

ID Theft Guy

Creepy identity theft guy.

I received an email from Sallie Mae this morning about my student loans. “You have a new student loan account document available online,” it said.

Click on this link, it said. Then enter your user name and password. Oh, and can you verify the city where you were born?

Maybe it’s just me, but doesn’t that sound a lot like a phishing email? You know the type: that message from eBay or PayPal warning you about fraudulent activity on your account, so can you please RIGHT NOW log in and verify your date of birth, social security number and mother’s maiden name, or they’ll cancel your account forever?

The last time I checked, identity theft experts warn consumers not to click on links in emails that ask you for personal information of any kind. Even if it looks like a legitimate URL, and even if it leads to something that looks like your financial institution’s legitimate site, it might not be.

To be safe, experts recommend typing a site’s address directly into your browser instead. And some companies have changed the way they do things because of this. Vanguard, for instance, sends me emails that contain no hyperlinks—just instructions to open a browser of my choice, visit “vanguard.com,” and log in for important correspondence.

Sallie Mae needs to do something similar. Because here’s the thing: What I received today was a legitimate email. But if Sallie Mae makes a point of sending these emails to its customers on a regular basis, it’s just one small step for phishers to copy it, pose as Sallie Mae and send out illegitimate requests to consumers who don’t know any better.

Sallie Mae, are you listening?

Click here to tweet this post

Subscribe to my RSS feed.
Get posts via email.

About these ads

Responses

  1. I got that same email today to a fake email address that I used to use on a game website. I would have never used that email address for anything real, and I have never had anything to do with Sallie Mae. I’m not taking the chance and filling out my information on their site. I thought it was odd that the address in the email doesn’t have a Sallie Mae domain, but it redirects to one.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

%d bloggers like this: